GV Hawaii Adrift

Imagery and Language: Learning English; Adrift in Hawaii

From Germany to Hawaii

Posted by schlumpf84 on October 23, 2008

I started to learn English in school at the age of 12. We started with short words and looked at pictures. My first teacher was very friendly and did well working with children. The second was very strict. Everybody was afraid of her and looked forward to the end of every lesson. We did not enjoy ot and were hoping that it would change… but it did not! At the end of school I was half-prepared and wanted to improve my English. That´s why I thought about going to England and live there for half a year.
I went to Butlins, a holiday camp in the east of England, called Skeggness, and worked in a bar. It was a great experience, but I did not speak a lot, so I decided to go back to Germany. I won´t missing these four month, but I would not do it again.
After my return, I studied and finished it last august and wanted to leave home before I start working for my whole life. That´s how I came here and till now, I really enjoy ot and had a great time! I like the active way of teaching and the small class of just a few students and the age of the teachers, because in Germany most of them are older…

One Response to “From Germany to Hawaii”

  1. Josh said

    I started to learn english in school at the age of 12. we startet with short words and looked at pictures. My first teacher was very friendly and did well working with children. The second was very strict. Everybody was afraid of her and was looking forward to the end of every lesson. We did not enjoyed it and were hoping that it is going to change….but it did not! At the end of school§I just feeled half-prepared and wanted to improve my english. That’s why I thougt about going to England and live there for half a year.

    I went to Butlins, a holiday camp in the east of england, called Skegness, and worked in a bar. It was a great experience, but I did not speak a lot, so I decidet to go back to Germany. I won’t miss this four month, but I would not do it again.

    After my return, I studied, ? finished it last august and wanted to leave home before I have to start working for my hole life. That’s how I came here and by now, I really enjoy it and have a great time! I like the active way of teaching and the small class of just a few students and the low age of the teachers, because in Germany most of them are old….

Leave a Reply

 
