GV Hawaii Adrift

Imagery and Language: Learning English; Adrift in Hawaii

Guenters weekend

Posted by guenter1960 on November 23, 2008

First of all it was a wonderful weekend. Why?

On Friday afternoon after school I went to the Stan Sheriff Center. Once again my Hawaiian friends invited me to a volleyball match. It was the WAC Volleyball Tournament. The Rainbow Wahines played against Idaho. The match was very close and at the end The Wahines won after 3 sets.

On Saturday I was invited to the festival “In-House-Bridge of Friendship”. The festival was organized by  Shinnyo-en  which is a Japanese-based Buddhist sect, where I’m be a member already. The festival included two videos and different speeches. At the end of the festival there was a complementary lunch for all visitors.

On Sunday morning I attended the Shinnyo-en service at the temple. After the service my friends invited me again to a volleyball game. It was the final between New Mexico and Rainbow Wahines. It was a very exciting match. More than 5000 visitors shouted for the Wahines. During the game I got very hungry. I decided to buy some food in the arena. It was for me the first time that I tried garlic fries. I can tell you it’s delicious. Anyway, the Rainbow Wahines won the match in 3 to 1 sets and got the cup. With standing ovations the visitors celebrated the winners.

Leave a Reply

 
