GV Hawaii Adrift

Imagery and Language: Learning English; Adrift in Hawaii

Strange things seen in America.

Posted by joegre on November 23, 2008

This time I’d like to mention a few things that I’ve seen in this country which made me curious.

First of all I’d like to mention the cars here. I’ve heard that you get a fine if somebody in your car has no belt on, but it’s legal to carry peoples on the loading platform of your pickup on the Highway. Strange country.

But some stuff is really nice too. I like the ”rescue” surfboards of the lifeguards here. imgp1312I like the though that they rescue surfers with a surfboard; it’s somehow more organic then with a jet boat. So I see that it makes sense that lifeguards have surfboards. But what the hack do the firefighters have surfboards for? This looks like a joke:foto-0092So the local firefighters get the second place for being somewhat weird. But the first place belongs to something else: I mean I know this is a different country with a rich culture which might look strange to me. And I also know that fast food is an important part of the American Way of Life. BUT: Have you ever seen the haul down the flag ceremony at Burger King? It takes place every day at 6:15 p.m. Don’t believe it? Go to see it!imgp1321

Leave a Reply

 
