GV Hawaii Adrift

Imagery and Language: Learning English; Adrift in Hawaii

  • Recent Comments

    Wilhelmus Bhaskarana… on I WANT TO GO TO INDIA —…
    guenter1960 on in class writing assignme…
    karinu on in class writing assignme…
    isabel81 on in class writing assignme…
    allan08 on in class writing assignme…
  • Archives

  • Categories

Archive for November 12th, 2008

Guenters story using present tense

Posted by guenter1960 on November 12, 2008

My dear friend, I have a exciting story for you! This story begins which happened to me last week.  Imagine this, I’m walkinged very slowly through Waikiki when .  And suddenly I seeaw 3 nice Japanese women coming from out the Aapple Sstore. One women woreais wearing a beautiful nice dress and hasd long brownain hair. Suddenly the women with the nice dress she says to me, o“Oh can you help us to find Moose’s bar“?. And respond to her,, o “Of course! Iit’s on my way. Cme with me.” So I’m walking with the 3 women in direction totoward Moose’s ba and as we r. During the walk weI have a very interesting conversation with the 3 Japanese women’s. We were discussing about the culture in Japan.  When we arrived at the bar, one of the women asks,says to me. Oh would you like to come with us in the bar?.Of course,” I admitted. In the bar we are dancing and talking and drinking for more than 3 hours.  The time is passinged very fast. At the end the women with the nice dress said to meFinally the woman in the beautiful dress ask if I would. Oh would you walk them to theibring us to our hotel. Of course I woulddid. So we lare leaveing the bar, singing during theand walk and having so much fun together as we walk. When we arrive atd the hotel, they invited me up to their room for a coffee. in  their room. While As we drinkdrinking coffee we are discussing about the difference between Japanese women and German women.

The end of the story I’ll tell you later.I’ll tell you the end later….

Posted in GV, Writing Assignments | Tagged: , | 1 Comment »

Skiing

Posted by joegre on November 12, 2008

When I was younger, I used to do skiing. It’s quite normal in Switzerland to do that. I just take my skis or my snowboard and go to the mountains. As far as I remember, there’s always snow in the mountains in wintertime. So it’s just natural to go there. I get on my skis, chatch the ski lift and enjoy the downhill part. Of course, sometimes it’s pretty cold there. You have to get on with that.

I remember that I was always lucky when we had a lunchtime break. It’s a pleasure to warm up with a warm meal. I like this moments of calm before the storms when you sit in the restaurant and try to recover before you go out again. — Well, when looking back the food seems to be better then he really was. But that’s an other story.

Posted in GV, Writing Assignments | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »

Beachday

Posted by schlumpf84 on November 12, 2008

Yesterday after school me and my friends went to the beach. Walking along the promenade and looking for the other girls lying somewhere, a boy asks if we want to play volleyball and join in their competition. We are relaxing on the beach, talking and taking a nap. After a while some of my friends and me decide to play and I’m trying my best to reach every ball. It’s not really working, because the sun shines into my face and I can’t really see the ball coming. I feel sorry about my mistakes and hope that the other player don’t avoid to flank the ball to me. After a few minutes I’m getting into the game and enjoy playing. Running and sweating in the sun is reasoning that I take a break and go swimming in the sea.  I note that I’m not fit anymore…. but I’m not wondering, after one month just eating and no exercise, I can’t anticipate something different. Hopefully I can play again and get my shape back in a few days or weeks ?!

I’m hungry now, so what should I eat? Me and a friend want to eat spaghetti with vegetables and tomato sauce, so we cook a big portion each and had a nice cold beer. I like this day, it is warm sunny and relaxing…

Posted in GV, Writing Assignments | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »

Past

Posted by ninsl on November 12, 2008

I’m sitting outside the residence and then a lot of people came by. I didn’t know them. Because I’m still arriving after my three-week trip through the USA. The new people looked at me while I’m introducing myself. I don’t like that, everybody is starring at you. I didn’t feel comfortable in that situation. It was strange.  Then they introduced themselves. I’m smiling all the time, because it was funny to listen to them. Everybody has his own vernaculare. They telling me stories about the school and how it was for them on their first day at the residence. They were very friendly and after 30 minutes I felt like sitting outside with my friends. On the next day i had to go to school. While doing the test the teacher looked at us that we couldn’t cheat. Like they did it in our school in Switzerland. But I never cheated in any test. While smoking a cigarette outside the school a saw all the people from my residence. I talked to them again. And then I’m walking to the beach, when a nice man crossed the street.

Posted in GV, Writing Assignments | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »

Past

Posted by ramyleo on November 12, 2008

I’m walking to the beach with friends when we decided to take an other way this time. Usually we walk along the main street but that day we wanted to know if there’s a shorter possibility to get there . So we are walking through the lobby of a famous hotel. When we are passing the shops in it we saw a few flamingos, penguins and small turtles. We are looking at these beautiful animals and went further. The way was not that long as all the times before. Maybe it’s just because of the new things we saw maybe our feeling is fooling us and we just believed to get our destination earlier. We are not looking to the watch so we still don’t know if the way was shorter or not.

Posted in GV, Writing Assignments | Leave a Comment »